Hi, I’m Chris

Home Forums Introductions Hi, I’m Chris

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    Chris Hawkins
    Participant

I’m, a former CIO and retired in my 40s – now in my 50s. I have a techie past but have not kept it up – so have a good generic understanding of technology but am not an expert (by a long way) in any field. I love all things Apple and keep up to date with their devices and technology. My main pastime is woodworking – which I’ve been doing for over 30 years – virtually full time for the past 10 years. I mainly build watch and jewellery boxes, jewellery cabinets and small furniture. I’m lucky enough to have a comprehensively equipped workshop with just about every woodworking tool and machine that exists :-). I do have a small 3018 CNC machine with both spindle and laser engraver, which I use very occasionally. Happy to help anyone with any woodworking queries.

I am interested in 3D printing and did research it at one point, but the stumbling block was the software 3D design – everything I looked at seemed more complex than my patience could deal with. I met Mark at the meeting last evening and he pointed me at TinkerCAD which I plan to have a good look at – thanks, Mark! I’ve often thought about getting a bigger and more capable CNC machine, but I have literally exhausted all space! Having use of one at a club would be good. Otherwise, I would like to learn programming with Swift – not really sure if I’m up to it. The last time I did any serious programming was 6502 and Z80 machine code and a few of the high level languages of the day. It’s a different world now.

Good to be here.

Regards Chris

david_admin
    Keymaster